The ROF will start on August 10

27 June 2017

Stage direction will be a leading feature of the XXXVIII edition of the Rossini Opera Festival, which will be inaugurated on the 10th August 2017.

The first production will be by Carlus Padrissa e Lita Cabellut of the celebrated Catalan group La Fura dels Baus, following their successes in the leading international theatres, who will stage Le siège de Corinthe, Rossini’s first French opera which for the first time will be presented using the new critical edition of the Fondazione Rossini curated by Damien Colas.

The famous conductor Roberto Abbado will be conducting the Orchestra Sinfonica della Rai and the Coro del Teatro Ventidio Basso both at their debut at the Rossini Opera Festival. In the cast along with Nino Machaidze we have illustrious artists who will be singing for the first time in Pesaro, such as Luca Pisaroni, John Irvin, Sergey Romanovsky and Carlo Cigni. The list will be completed by young promising singers from the Accademia Rossiniana such as Xabier Anduaga, Iurii Samoilov and Cecilia Molinari.

Finally Pesaro will witness the return of Pier Luigi Pizzi, an historic presence at the Festival, who will stage a scenically re-elaborated La pietra del paragone, an opera missing from the Festival programme for no fewer that fifteen years. For the occasion the critical edition prepared by Patricia B. Brauner and Anders Wiklund in 2002 has been revised and updated and will be published within the current year.

Daniele Rustioni, a prominent name, will also conduct the Orchestra Sinfonica della RAI and the Coro del Teatro Ventidio Basso. Even in this production we have two newcomers of the Rossini Opera Festival which are Gianluca Margheri and William Corrò along with ex pupils of the Accademia Rossiniana who are now accomplished young artists such as Aya Wakizono, Aurora Faggioli, Marina Monzó, Maxim Mironov, Davide Luciano and Paolo Bordogna.

The next will be Mario Martone, who will revive, with an entirely new cast, Torvaldo e Dorliska, the successful production of 2006.

The conductor will be the young and rising Francesco Lanzillotta who will be conducting the Orchestra Sinfonica G. Rossini and the Coro del Teatro della Fortuna M. Agostini. In the title roles we’ll hear Dmitry Korchak and Salome Jicia along with Nicola Alaimo, Carlo Lepore, Raffaella Lupinacci and Filippo Fontana.

The Festival giovane with Il viaggio a Reims, portrayed by the young singers of the Accademia Rossiniana “Alberto Zedda” and conducted by Michele Spotti, together with a rich programme of concerts (Luca Pisaroni; Margarita Gritskova; John Irvin, Sergey Romanovsky and Michael Spyres; Ildar Abdrazakov; Rossinimania), meetings and various other events complete the prospectus, as usual. The Festival will conclude with the Stabat Mater (with Daniele Rustioni conducting the Orchestra Sinfonica della Rai and the Coro del Teatro Ventidio Basso, soloists Salome Jicia, Enkelejda Shkoza, Dmitry Korchak and Erwin Schrott) in live video projection in Piazza del Popolo.